

BOARD OF TRUSTEES HUSSEY-MAYFIELD MEMORIAL PUBLIC LIBRARY MINUTES SPECIAL MEETING May 15, 2020

A special meeting of the Board of Trustees was held on May 15, 2020, beginning at 1:04 p.m. All members of the Board were present except Micah Vincent. Sarah Moore, Executive Director; Mary Rueff, Asst.Director; Brandon Weir, IT Specialist; Sarah Childs, Tech Services Department Head; Julie Bigler, Circulation Department Head; Joey Houston, TAS Department Head; Patricia VanArsdale, TAS Asst Department Head; Kelli Brooks, YS Department Head; Virginia Hilbert, Marketing Director; Laura Gangstad, Youth Services Asst Department Head; and Kimberly Olivares, Board Assistant were also present. Sandy Sifferlen, President, presided.

# Discussion

# Overview of the process of preparing to open.

Sarah Moore shared the processed she used to determine best practices for reopening the building as well as how staff and managers were engaged in the process.

# Discussion of the safety plan and additional documents.

Sarah Moore shared the safety plan explaining that it is a public document that will be posted and is written in broad language to allow for adjustments later if needed.

#### Hours Proposal

Upon **motion duly made** by Monty Korte, seconded by Ed Cambra, and being unanimously adopted, it was resolved to approve the proposed temporary hours for the library through July 5, 2020.

#### Future Plans

Sarah Moore indicated that by the regularly scheduled board meeting on May 21, 2020 she expects to have a quote to make our bathrooms touchless. It is anticipated this will be less than \$10K.

Sarah also said there is a proposal that will be shared with the board to move fine-free.

Page 1 of 2 Special Board Meeting May 15, 2020

### Next Meeting

Sandy Sifferlen said she will send an email to see if the next meeting can be held a bit earlier since most are working from home.

# <u>Adjournment</u>

Upon **motion duly made** by Jane Johnson, seconded by Ed Cambra, and being unanimously adopted, it was resolved that there being no further business, the meeting be adjourned at 1:45 p.m.

Jane Johnson, Secretary

May 2020 Library Board: Sandy Sifferlen, Monty Korte, Micah Vincent, Ed Cambra, Christina Hage, Molly Hanlon, and Jane Johnson

Page 2 of 2 Special Board Meeting May 15, 2020