

Board of Trustees – Regular Meeting Hussey – Mayfield Memorial Public Library Thursday, August 27, 2020

6 PM Library Board Meeting via ZOOM

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees was held on August 27, 2020, beginning at 6:00 p.m. All members of the Board were present. Sarah Moore, Executive Director; Mary Rueff, Asst. Director; Phyllis Robinson, Finance Manager; Brandon Weir, IT Specialist; Julie Bigler, Circulation Department Head; Patricia VanArsdale, TAS Asst Department Head; Laura Gangstad, YS Asst Department Head; and Kimberly Olivares, Board Assistant were also present. Sandy Sifferlen, President, presided.

Secretary's Report

Minutes of July 16, 2020 regular meeting & July 29, 2020 special meeting

Upon **motion duly made** by Christina Hage, seconded by Ed Cambra, and being unanimously approved, the minutes of the regular meeting held on July 16, 2020 and the special meeting held on July 29, 2020 are approved.

Treasurer's Report

August Claims

Upon **motion duly made** by Ed Cambra, seconded by Monty Korte, and being unanimously approved, the Board of Trustees authorized and directed the payment of the outstanding claims to date for August 2020, as reviewed, approved, and audited by the Assistant Library Director, and approved for payment by the Treasurer.

Staff Reports

Summer Reading

Mary Rueff and Laura Gangstad offered insights into the transition to virtual summer reading. Please see the attached report.

President's Report

New Board Member

Sandy Sifferlen welcomed Christine Squier, appointed by the Zionsville Community School Board, to the Board of Trustees. Christine will complete the term of Jane Johnson who moved out of the service area.

Updated Library Board Committees

With the resignation of Jane Johnson and the addition of Christine Squier to the Library Board as a trustee, the committee membership has changed. Additionally, the Service Access Committee has been renamed the Expansion Committee and a new committee, the Site Selection Committee, has been added, with committee members to be determined. An updated committee list has been provided.

Committee Reports

Election of New Officers

With the resignation of Jane Johnson, who was the Library Board Secretary, a new Secretary needs to be voted upon, realigning the Library Board officers.

Nominating/By-Laws Committee

The Committee has proposed a slate of nominations for Board consideration.

Proposed Slate:

Sandy Sifferlen, President Monty Korte, Vice President Ed Cambra, Treasurer Micah Vincent, Assistant Treasurer Molly Hanlon, Secretary Christina Hage, Assistant Secretary

Call by President Sifferlen for further nominations from the floor.

Upon **motion duly made** by Ed Cambra, seconded by Christina Hage, and being unanimously approved, the Board of Trustees approves to close the Library Board of Trustee nominations.

Upon **motion duly made** by Ed Cambra, seconded by Christina Hage, and being unanimously approved, the Board of Trustees elect the Library Board of Trustee nominees as presented.

Director's Report

FY 2021 Budget

Phyllis Robinson and Sarah Moore met with our DLGF field representative on August 6 with all our financials and draft 2021 budget. Circuit breaker numbers came in at \$117,360. The maximum budget is \$3,464,033.

The public hearing is scheduled for the regular board meeting on September 17 at 6:00.

Upon **motion duly made** by Monty Korte, seconded by Ed Cambra, and being unanimously approved, the Library Board of Trustees authorize the Library Director to advertise the FY 2021 budget notice after review by the Finance Committee.

SEE ATTACHMENTS

eRate

In order to file for eRate for next year, the following forms must be approved by the Library Board and filed with the State Library:

- Form 479 to certify that the Library is in compliance with the Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA)
- Letter of Agency to give authority to AdTec to file eRate forms on behalf of HMMPL for 2020-2021.
- New Board Resolution to continue in the consortium (see attached).

Upon **motion duly made** by Molly Hanlon, seconded by Ed Cambra, and being unanimously approved, the Library Board of Trustees resolve to direct the Library Director to sign Form 479 and the authorization form for filing eRate on behalf of HMMPL.

Upon **motion duly made** by Molly Hanlon, seconded by Monty Korte, and being unanimously approved, the Library Board of Trustees approve the Resolution to continue with the Indiana State Library Consortium for Public Library Internet Access.

SEE ATTACHMENTS

Surplus Items Transfer

Please see the attached list of items to be declared surplus and transferred to the Friends of the Library. These items have been replaced with the purchase of tables and chairs made in 2019 for the meeting rooms on the first floor.

Upon **motion duly made** by Monty Korte, seconded by Christina Hage, and being unanimously approved, the Library Board of Trustees declare the items removed from service listed on the attached document as surplus and transfer to the Friends of the Hussey-Mayfield Memorial Public Library.

SEE ATTACHMENTS

Other Business

Next Meeting

The next regular meeting of the Board of Trustees will be Thursday, September 17, 2020 at 7:00 pm.

Adjournment

Upon motion duly made by Ed Cambra, seconded by Molly Hanlon, and being unanimously adopted, it was resolved that there being no further business, the meeting be adjourned at 6:41 p.m.

Molly Hanlon, Secretary

Attachments for Regular Meeting

Meeting Minutes: Regular Meeting on July 16, 2020 Meeting Minutes: Special Meeting July 29, 2020

Financial Reports as of July 31, 2020 Statistics through July 31, 2020 Current Library Board Committees

2020 SRP Update FY2021 Budget eRate resolution CIPA Form 479

eRate Letter of Agency

August 2020 Library Board: Sandy Sifferlen, Monty Korte, Micah Vincent, Ed Cambra, Christina Hage, Molly Hanlon, and Christine Squier